Archive for May 26, 2008

Fresh Spinach and Tomato Pasta

Fresh Spinach and Tomato Pasta

Recipe submitted by “My own creation KarmaGirl”, 02/29/04

Ingredients (use vegan versions):

    Bowtie Pasta
    3-4 Fresh Tomatoes, Blanched with seeds removed
    I bag of fresh baby spinach
    1/2 cup of vegetable broth
    1-3 cloves of garlic (depending on preference)
    Dried Rosemary (to taste)
    Dried Oregano (to taste)
    Salt and Pepper (to taste)
    Olive Oil (3-4 tablespoons)
    Nutritional Yeast

Directions:

Cook pasta according to directions and set aside. Next, blanch the tomatoes, remove the seeds and skin and then chop. Wash the spinach and then chop it up as well.  Heat the olive oil in a pan and add the garlic and spinach first. Cook the spinach on medium heat until it gets a little tender.

Add the seasonings and then the tomatoes and saute for about 2-3 minutes. If you sauté too long, the tomatoes get too mushy. Just before its done add the veggie broth and stir for another minute to thicken. Finally, remove from heat and stir in the pasta. Serve hot with a little nutritional yeast over top. My whole family loves this recipe and its so simple. We eat it almost every week.

Serves: 5-6

Preparation time: 30 Minutes

URL: http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=8385.0

____________________________________________________________

I found this on veg web and made it for dinner the other day. It was really good, except that once I put in the veg broth I lost a lot of the flavor (I tried it before and after) so I think you shouldn’t be afraid to “over season” … at least that’s my opinion … anyway, it was really good … so … ya …

Leave a Comment